2016 GREEF AWARD Winner

                               Helen Maschmeyer


 Each year the Missouri Council of Teachers of English (MCTE) honors a graduating senior with the Robert J. Greef Award upon receiving a nomination from members of the English Education Committee at Southeast Missouri State University.  This award was established in honor of a former MCTE president, Robert Greef, an outstanding teacher at University of Central Missouri. Each Missouri college is invited to elect a recipient. 


   MCTE has established three criteria to help universities select a student for this award.  The student 1) is majoring in English education, 2) has a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, and 3) plans to teach English upon graduation.  Leadership, character, and participation in department activities are other criteria that is taken into consideration


Our most current recipient from Southeast Missouri State University is current graduate Helen Maschmeyer.  Bryan receives  cash awards from the Southeast Missouri English Teachers Association (SMETA) and from the English Department at Southeast to be used towards expenses to attend the Write to Learn conference at Tan-Tar-A .  The Greef Award winners from across Missouri, including Helen,  were honored at the Write to Learn Conference at Tan-Tar-A in February 2016 during Friday's luncheon. 


Helen Maschmeyer has wanted to be a teacher ever since she was five years old. According to her mother, Helen came home from her first day of Kindergarten and “taught” her baby brother everything she learned that day. Helen attended the Festus R-6 School District for all thirteen years of her pre-collegiate career and graduated in 2012 with Summa Cum Laude honors. Helen’s love for and commitment to education has fueled her to maintain a 4.0 cumulative grade point average throughout her entire college career. She has won awards at two educational institutions, including The Elizabeth Hoyt Clark Honors Program Scholarship at Jefferson College and the Shelton and Glenda Smith Scholarship for Educators at Southeast Missouri State University. Helen was also the recipient of the Outstanding Transfer Student Scholarship at Southeast Missouri State University in 2014 for her outstanding performance at Jefferson College. Helen is a natural-born leader, having served as Vice President of the Student Missouri National Education Association at Jefferson College and the Publicity Chair/Webmaster of Southeast’s Alpha Eta chapter of Kappa Delta Pi. She is also a worship leader at her church. Helen will begin her first full year of teaching in the Festus R-6 School District.


 Congratulations Helen; we are proud of you and your accomplishments.



Past Greef Award Winners include  Rilee Jones, Bryan Hubrecht, Justin Fritsche, Megan Cross Lebron, Kevin Combs, Amy Kreher, Kelli Weyand Nicholson, Julie Massey DeMent, Jenny Schott, Levi Bollinger, Katie Carson, Kandee Metje Oliver, Amy Elfrink, Jessica Litzenfelner, Nicole Trokey Owens.